When You Update Your iPhone Does It Delete Everything?

0
343
When You Update Your IPhone Does It Delete Everything

Updating the applications on your iPhone or iPad is a quick and easy method to add new features, levels, or repair bugs and security risks in the apps you use. Questions might cross your mind When You Update Your iPhone Does It Delete Everything? When you update your iOS, the new version replaces the old one and installs any available security updates. Even though Apple’s iOS updates do not delete user data, exceptions occur.

Quick Answer: Even though Apple’s iOS upgrades aren’t supposed to wipe any user data from the device, exceptions do occur.

This article will do our best to address such questions and concerns and explain what happens when you upgrade your phone.

Why You Should Update your iOS device?

A smartphone gets made up of hardware and software, much like a computer. An operating system is required for the hardware to function. When you buy a new phone, it is a pre-installed operating system.

Apple is always striving to improve its operating systems. The upgraded version generally includes the latest features and aims to solve security and bug issues in prior versions.

When a software update is available, your phone will often notify you. Apple’s software upgrades are all free and take little time to install. As a result, keeping your iPhone’s software up to date would be helpful. Updating your iOS can take between 30 minutes and an hour, depending on the following factors:

  • Your phone’s model and storage capacity
  • The smartphone’s size
  • Your smartphone’s age
  • Your network connection’s consistency and speed
  • Servers from Apple
  • Whether or not you have any background programs running while updating iOS

How To Delete Cookies On iPhone – Read our Newest Guide here.

When You Update Your iPhone Does It Delete Everything?

iPhones have grown into a one-stop gadget for personal information, with over 850 million active iPhone cloud users globally. Photos, contacts, calendars, passwords, and professional papers are all stored on iPhones.

So, the question may arise in your mind: When You Update Your IPhone Does It Delete Everything?

A software update does not erase the data on your smartphone, and everything is kept both during and after the iOS upgrade. Although Apple’s iOS upgrades do not delete any user data from the device, certain exceptions exist.

Please back up your iPhone before upgrading it to eliminate this danger and alleviate any anxiety that may arise.

Backup

Because updates don’t always go as planned, it’s a good idea to back up your phone’s data before wondering When You Update Your IPhone Does It Delete Everything?

Before upgrading your iPhone, use both usual backup methods offered by Apple. The first step is to use iTunes to transfer your backup files to your PC, and this step may take several minutes, depending on when you last backed up.

You may back up your phone to the cloud or the hard disc of your computer. When you join up for iCloud, Apple only provides you with 5 gigabytes of free storage. Most individuals have significantly more on their iPhones than that.

If you want an additional room, you will have to pay more. This backup, which must get performed over Wi-Fi, will transfer your data to your online storage location for protection.

Once you backup, go for an update:

  • Navigate to the General tab in the Settings app.
  • Click Software Update to get information about the most recent edition, including the version number and additional features.
  • Tap Download and Install if the update hasn’t already got downloaded to your phone.
  • When prompted, enter your passcode or PIN for the lock screen.
  • When the software update has completed downloading, you will get asked to install it now or later.
  • Choose Install Now.
  • After the installation begins, you will see the message Verifying update. Allow it to finish the verification.
  • The screen of your phone turns dark, and it restarts.
  • In the center of the screen, a little progress bar and the Apple logo display

You may unlock your phone and use it usually when the installation gets finished.

What Happens When You Don’t Update Your iOS Device?

Updating a phone is crucial, but it is not required. You may keep using your phone without upgrading it. However, no new features will get introduced to your phone, and existing issues will not resolve.

Some apps may quit operating if you haven’t updated to the most recent app version. Worse, opportunistic hackers might take your personal information by exploiting security flaws that you failed to patch with updates.

In summary, if you don’t apply software upgrades to your phones, you stand to lose a lot more in terms of convenience and security. As a result, you should avoid putting off device updates because they are generally helpful. Why would you pass them up?

Restore Your IPhone– Delete All Your Data

When you use iTunes to update your software, you’ll get two options: “Restore” and “Update.” To upgrade your iOS, you can choose one or both options.

When you restore your iPhone, all your data and settings will get erased, and it will also get updated. If you pick the restore option, you may lose previous applications deleted from the Apple App Store following a new update to your phone.

Final Thought

To conclude, a software upgrade is a good option for you to keep your mobile software up to date. There are two ways to upgrade the operating system on your iPhone.

The first technique upgrades the operating system without removing anything that is a simple update. In contrast, the second approach deletes data while selecting the Restore option.

During the upgrade process, all applications and data get kept. If a power outage or an issue stops, the update process prevents updating software. In that case, you may lose your existing phone data. So, it’s better than before you update your phone, you make a backup of your data to avoid any future mishappening.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here